cards · Christmas

Strip Piecing

‘Tis the season for gifts and merrymaking.  And cards.  Lots and lots of cards.  And even more cards.

bargello-tree-enhancedThis week I was inspired by the Bargello challenge over at Shopping Our Stash.  I like them because they want you to use what you have in your stash for the challenge.  I’m so very guilty of needing new art supplies all the time.  Right now I really desperately need both Brushos and Inca Gold because my water color pans, tubes of water color, water color crayons, water color pencils, distress inks, and various washable crayons and gelatos simply aren’t good enough now that I’ve seen new variations!  So, yeah, being forced to use what I own is good for me.

Bargello is not actually my favorite strip piecing technique, but I thought I would give it a try.  Once I had a sheet pieced up… it was too busy for me.  Luckily I had picked up a Christmas tree die at Hobby Lobby a couple of weeks ago for reasons.  Word to the wise – Do not piece your bargello with multiple layers of gloss gel medium if you intend to cut it with a manual die cutter.  There may have been loud colorful language.  And then multiple layers were too thick to nicely nest in a single sheet of cardstock, so I ran around screaming in panic ran a sheet of fun foam through my machine to back the cardstock, which gave me just enough depth to drop it in.

Heat embossed sentiments using versamark ink and a mix of red and black Zing embossing powder.

black-on-black-tree This card is from an additional front – the red was just a little too bright compared to the red in the tree.  I really like the effect of the green foam underlayer peeking through.  I can’t decide if this one needs a little extra something to make it pop, or if it is a ninja card and I will spoil it if I add anything.

In all honesty, I think I already spoiled it by adding the glimmering mist, but I do love shiny.

 

2 thoughts on “Strip Piecing

  1. WOW!!!! That turned out wonderful!!! I just love the idea of making it into a Christmas tree! So clever! So Awesome! Thank you for joining us at Shopping Our Stash and trying a new technique! Cyndi, DT

    Like

  2. ohhhhhhhh how lovely and how incredibly clever! beautiful card, gorgeous take on the bargello technique… i really want to make another one now to try out your FAB idea! thanks for joining us at SHOPPING OUR STASH! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

